Wednesday April 24 2024

CoE, EU to carry new projects in Azerbaijan

27 October 2015 13:50 (UTC+04:00)
CoE, EU to carry new projects in Azerbaijan

By Nigar Orujova

The Council of Europe and the European Union introduced a number of new projects to be implemented in the Eastern Partnership participating countries, including Azerbaijan.

The project focuses on media professionals, workers of justice, administrative authorities, as well as lawyers.

Projects costing 4.7 million euros are financed by the EU and the CoE, and implemented by the Council of Europe. In addition to these projects, Azerbaijan will take part in 14 regional initiatives covering the country and several other countries.

The details of the projects were presented by head of the CoE office in Azerbaijan Dragana Filipovic.

She said, the programs were agreed with the Azerbaijani government.

Head of the EU office in Baku Malena Mard added that the policy of Eastern Partnership is very important for the EU countries.

Today the EU has a policy more oriented to the needs of the countries participating in the Eastern Partnership, she added. These projects are funded by the EU, the Council of Europe and Azerbaijan. They cover such areas as the development of human rights, justice, the rule of law, and freedom of the media.

“We are proud to be able to work with Azerbaijan in the framework of these projects,” said Mard.

The main objectives of the four projects to be implemented in Azerbaijan in 2015-2017 based on the framework agreement “On cooperation program” are: the expansion of media freedoms, opportunities for curbing bribery and fight with them in the administrative authorities, promotion possibilities and the role of the Institute of Justice, education of judges and implementation of special projects aimed at improving the quality of justice bodies in Azerbaijan.

The Eastern Partnership program is one of two directions of the EU Neighborhood Policy developed in 2004 to create a more solid relationship between the EU and neighboring countries. The Eastern Partnership includes Azerbaijan, Georgia, Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova and Armenia.

Latest See more