Thursday July 25 2024

Azerbaijan's Ministry of Emergency Situations takes Sugovushan reservoir under protection

14 November 2020 16:43 (UTC+04:00)
Azerbaijan's Ministry of Emergency Situations takes Sugovushan reservoir under protection

By Trend

To ensure the implementation of clause 6.1 of the decree of the President of Azerbaijan "On the organization of temporary special management in the territories of Azerbaijan liberated from occupation" dated October 29, 2020, the Ministry of Emergency Situations of Azerbaijan took under protection the Sugovushan reservoir in the Tartar district, Trend reports with reference to the ministry.

The appropriate forces of the Special Risk Rescue Service established a round-the-clock control regime on the territory.

Following over a month of military action to liberate its territories from Armenian occupation, Azerbaijan has pushed Armenia to sign the surrender document. A joint statement on the matter was made by Azerbaijani president, Armenia's PM and the president of Russia.

A complete ceasefire and a cessation of all hostilities in the zone of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is introduced at 00:00 hours (Moscow time) on 10 November 2020.

Armenian Armed Forces launched a large-scale military attack on positions of Azerbaijani army on the front line, using large-caliber weapons, mortars and artillery on Sept. 27. Azerbaijan responded with a counter-offensive along the entire front.

Back in July 2020, Armenian Armed Forces violated the ceasefire in the direction of Azerbaijan's Tovuz district. As a result of Azerbaijan's retaliation, the opposing forces were silenced. The fighting continued the following days as well. Azerbaijan lost a number of military personnel members, who died fighting off the attacks of the Armenian Armed Forces.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, Armenian Armed Forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.


Follow us on Twitter @AzerNewsAz

Latest See more