Booktrailer Festival jury members announced

13 April 2016 16:34 (UTC+04:00)

By Laman Ismayilova

The Organizing Committee of the first Booktrailer Festival in Azerbaijan has announced jury members, Trend Life reports.

The secretary of Azerbaijani Writers' Union, President of the PEN club, world-famous writer Chingiz Abdullayev, screenwriter, director, honored art worker and laureate of state prize of the USSR KGB Prize Ramiz Fataliyev, a graduate of Russian State University of Cinematography, laureate of national awards, director Elkhan Jafarov, honored art worker, laureate of national awards, director Ulviyya Konul and another graduate of Russian State University of Cinematography, laureate of national and international awards, filmmaker Nadir Mehdiyev and founder and director of the festival, actor Ruslan Sabirli are the jury members.

Booktrailers are short videos that promote a book or an author, providing a good illustration of the book content. The Organizing Committee has recently announced that the number of trailers submitted in the festival has been more than expected.

The winner will be announced on the International Book Day - April 23, 2016. Films accepted to the Festival will be available on social networks. The first place will get a prize in the amount of 1000 manats ($604), while the winners of the second and third places 800 manats ($483) and 500 manats ($302), respectively.

The Festival aims at promoting books, supporting and developing creative forms of reading, searching talented young people in cinematography and promoting bookrailers as a part of art and business.

Facebook page:

For all questions, please contact: [email protected]

Media partners of the event are Trend,, and


Laman Ismayilova is AzerNews’ staff journalist, follow her on Twitter: @Lam_Ismayilova

Follow us on Twitter @AzerNewsAz