Canadian Senate rejects pro-Armenian senator's motion on Azerbaijan's Nagorno-Karabakh

9 December 2020 14:41 (UTC+04:00)

By Vafa Ismayilova

The Canadian Senate has rejected a motion by pro-Armenian senators on recognizing indepedence of Azerbaijan's Nagorno-Karabakh region.

Senator Leo Housakos who put forward the motion, shared the news of its rejection in his Twitter account on December 9.

Fifty-three senators voted against the motion, 16 voted in favor for it and five senators abstained from voting.

Network of Canadian Azerbaijanis (NCA) hailed the rejeciton of this biased motion.

"The motion contradicted with the foreign policy of Canada who recognizes the territorial integrity of Azerbaijan. Honorable Senators, your true persistence and justified rejection of this motion will lead to strengthening Canada's role in building peace in the South Caucasus region, helping post-war reconstruction and rehabilitation in Nagorno Karabakh, recently liberated by Azerbaijan from Armenian occupation lasting for 30 years," NCA wrote in its official Facebook page.

On November 25, the French Senate adopted a draft resolution on the recognition of the self-styled entity in Nagorno-Karabakh, which was seriously condemned by Azerbaijan's high-ranking official circles. On November 26, Azerbaijan sent its protest note to France over the resolution titled "On the need to recognize the ‘Nagorno-Karabakh Republic'".  Later, Azerbaijan  strongly condemned the adoption by the French National Assembly of another resolution titled "Protection of the Armenian People and Christian Communities of Europe and the East" . Baku sent its protest note to Paris over this resolution as well. 

The Azerbaijani Foreign Ministry ruled out any legal force of the resolutions and said that they run counter to all existing international documents.

The ministry reitearted tha lack of any hearing or a resolution by the French parliament on one million Azerbaijanis, who have been subjected to ethnic cleansing and whose fundamental human rights have been violated. Azerbaijan assessed the French parliament's approach as completely contradicting the provisions of the trilateral statement signed by the Azerbaijani, Armenian and Russian leaders on November 10,2020, and seriously undermined efforts to ensure peace and security in the region and globally.

Nagorno-Karabakh is Azerbaijan's breakway region that along with seven adjacent regions was occupied by Armenian forces in a war in the early 1990s.

On November 10, Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a Russia-brokered agreement to end fighting in Karabakh and work towards a comprehensive solution.

The November peace agreement ended the 30-year-old conflict between Baku and Yerevan over Azerbaijan’s Nagorno-Karabakh region that along with the seven adjacent regions came under the occupation of Armenian armed forces in the war in the 1990s. For nearly three decades, Armenia failed to implement the UN Security Council resolutions (822, 853, 874 and 884) demanding the immediate and unconditional withdrawal of its troops, which was the main obstacle to the resolution of the conflict.


Follow us on Twitter @AzerNewsAz