Azerbaijan Cultural Ministry names historical monuments in occupied territories

29 September 2020 13:56 (UTC+04:00)

By Laman Ismayilova

Azerbaijani Ministry of Culture has named the number of cultural heritage sites located in the occupied territories as a result of Armenia's aggression against Azerbaijan. 

Along with residential buildings, there are many industrial, educational and agricultural facilities on these territories, including 927 libraries with a book fund of 4.6 million books, 808 Palaces of Culture, clubs and houses of culture, 85 music and art schools .

In addition, there are 22 museums and museum branches, which have collected over 100,000 exhibits, 4 theaters, 2 concert institutions, 8 culture and recreation parks, more than 700 historical and cultural monuments registered by the state before the Karabakh conflict, including Khudaferin Bridges with 11 and 15 spans in Jabrayil, Ganjasar and Khudavend temples in Kalbajar, Khachin Turbetli in Aghdam, Azykh cave in Fizuli region, which is one of the oldest settlements in the world as well as Shusha State Historical and Architectural Reserve.

Armenia occupied over 20 percent of Azerbaijan's internationally recognized territory, including Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent regions, after laying territorial claims against its South Caucasus neighbor, which caused a lengthy war in the early 1990s.

More than 20,000 Azerbaijanis were killed and nearly one million were displaced as a result of the war.

The Armenian occupiers have completely destroyed hundreds of historical and cultural monuments belonging to Azerbaijan.


Follow us on Twitter @AzerNewsAz