ANIMAFILM announces names of int'l jury members

23 July 2019 10:33 (UTC+04:00)

By Laman Ismayilova

ANIMAFILM International Animation Festival offers a wide range of works, celebrating the best animation movies from across the globe. 

The festival will be held in Baku for the second time on October 18-20. 

ANIMAFILM Organizing Committee has announced its jury members, Trend Life reported. 

The jury is composed of professionals from Germany, Azerbaijan, Russia, Iran, and the Czech Republic.

The international jury will be headed by Masud Panachi, famous Azerbaijani director and animator.

Members of the Jury for Animated Films include director and animation artist Masud Panachi (Germany), animation artist Jahangir Suleymanov (Russia), animation and film scholar Miroslava Janicatova (Czech Republic), artist who has been active in fields such as animation, painting, digital art and street art Samir Salahov (Azerbaijan), and script writer, director and host of the Palitra ART TV series on Azerbaijan State Television (AzTV) Afet Ilhamqizi (Azerbaijan).

The Jury for Screenplays is composed of Azerbaijani and Russian screenwriter, People’s Artist of Azerbaijan Ramiz Fataliyev, photographer, animation director and illustrator Zeynab Gurbani Faryad (Iran), literary critic, translator, member of Azerbaijan Writers’ Union since 1985, Honored Art Worker Intigam Gasimzade (Azerbaijan), editorial writer and screenwriter, member of Azerbaijan Writers’ and Cinematographers’ Unions Gulshan Tofiggizi (Azerbaijan).

Two international juries and one national kids jury will choose animated films and screenplays for the festival`s competition, which aims at further development of animation.

Every audience member has a chance to make his or her own contribution to the evaluation of animated films by voting on them. At the end of the voting, the Audience Favor Award will be presented to the winner. 

ANIMAFILM Organizing Committee also plans to award a Golden Boat trophy at the festival to the one who has made great contribution to the development of animation in Azerbaijan.

The members of the jury will also actively participate in the festival’s noncompetitive and professional programs.

This year, the festival’s organizing committee decided to invite children to enter Kids Jury, which will determine the winner in the category Best Short Animated Film for Children. Only kids aged between 7 years to 13 years were eligible for joining the Kids Jury.

Members of the Kids Jury include Aydan Kerimli (Azerbaijan), Fatima Allahverdiyeva (Azerbaijan), Nilufar Azimzada (Azerbaijan), Zarif Gasimova (Azerbaijan) and Beril Karaoglu (Turkey).

Aydan Kerimli is a pupil of Integration Training Boarding School No. 11 in the Bilgeh settlement of Baku. She also studies at the GURAMA children animation studio.

Fatima Allahverdiyeva lives in Baku. She is a 7th-grade pupil at School No. 257. She intends to major in animation in the future.

Nilufar Azimzada currently lives in the Masazir settlement of Baku. She is 14 years old.

Zarif Qasimova lives in Sumgayit. She is a 2nd-grade pupil at the Gymnasium for Fine Arts affiliated to Azerbaijan National Conservatory.

Beril Karaoglu lives in Istanbul. She is in the fourth grade and is 10 years old.


Laman Ismayilova is AzerNews’ staff journalist, follow her on Twitter: @Lam_Ismayilova

Follow us on Twitter @AzerNewsAz