EU stays committed to Azerbaijan's territorial integrity

15 November 2016 11:28 (UTC+04:00)

By Gunay Hasanova

The Council of the European Union (EU) Foreign Ministers adopted a final document, following the negotiations on the Eastern Partnership Program on November 14.

The document states that the EU remains committed to supporting the territorial integrity, independence and sovereignty of all its partners.

The Eastern Partnership is a project of the European Union (EU), the main aim of which is the development of integration ties of the EU with six post-Soviet countries: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

The EU has repeatedly voiced that it favors a peaceful settlement of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict and supports all efforts in this direction, including the efforts of the OSCE Minsk Group.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

Azerbaijan and Armenia called a truce 22 years ago, on May 12 1994, to end the devastating war, but violence has flared up from time to time. The Armenian troops most recently resorted to the aggression and provoked a deadly exchange of artillery fire in early April.


Gunay Hasanova is AzerNews’ staff journalist, follow her on Twitter: @gunhasanova

Follow us on Twitter @AzerNewsAz